Posted by: jawsome | October 29, 2010

I’m back? Maybe?

Ok, so it has been a looooooong time since I’ve posted. Post marathon I was just over running for a while, then the final push toward the wedding had me in planning fervor. I have some crazy new ideas for my training/running, so I’m going to try getting back to this blogging thing – we’ll see how consistent I can be…

BULLETS!

  • I’m married! Matt and I got married on September 12th. It was amazing.
  • I officially have my PhD and a real person job (yay for paychecks)
  • Matt and I backpacked a significant part of the Colorado Trail for our HM (154 miles), which is partly responsible for my new running ideas (see below).
  • Ran the Blue Sky HM one week after getting back from our honeymoon. On almost zero training. Apparently hiking 154 miles is sufficient training! Did it in 2:34, which won’t be breaking any records, but considering the course, the heat, and my almost total lack of running in the 3 months prior, I was happy with it. It was probably my favorite race to date.

So what’s my new running idea? Well, there are two. First off, no more road running for this girl. After running my first trail half, there is no turning back. Not only was the scenery much more…well…scenic, but I was not sore at all in the following days. To test this, on a whim I went for a 17.5 mile run last weekend (on no training, again) and had absolutely zero soreness afterward. Granted, I wasn’t hauling butt by any means – but still, to be able to run 17.5 miles in a little over 4 hours with hills and no soreness makes me a very happy runner.

Second, I have decided to join the ranks of ultrarunners. Yes, those crazy distance people who run all night long and eat junk food. Sign me up. Truly, since I started this whole running gig I’ve been facinated by the idea of ultra-running. Marathons seemed far enough, who would want to run farther? But now that I’ve done some really long distance hiking and trail-running, I can see the appeal. Not sure if you’ll ever see me toeing the line for a 100 miler, but a 50k is definitely in my near future. Maybe even a 50 miler. Whoa.

I’ve been trying to run more with my local running group (slow as I am) and I think that’s been helping. I’m signing up for the Moab Hot 33k in Feb, in hopes of then competing in the Sageburner 50k in May.

Good thing I live in CO, there are LD trail races everywhere!

Upcoming races: 2miler on Saturday on Matt’s cyclocross track; T-day turkey trot.

Happy Running!

Responses

  1. Congrats on the wedding! I love September, it’s when I got married too. Great month. I think you should do the ultra. You’ll rock it. If you can do 17.5miles on NO training, you can do that. I can’t wait to hear about all the training. Yay! And, welcome back! (maybe). 😀

  2. Congrats on the wedding! So awesome! And good luck with the ultra’s. Sounds like a fun new running experience!

  3. omg – good luck! if anyone can do it, you can. 🙂

  4. Welcome back!! Can’t wait to hear about all the new stuff! (and yay yay ultras!)

  5. Loving the blog! My wife and I are training for several races, but are currently lacking any real structure to our training. We are just trying to make sure we’re running every day and building up that mileage. My wife likes the running for the fitness side and I have the interest of getting into trail races and ultras….30k, 50k, 50 miler, tops! I/we have started a blog too…http://adventures-of-f2.blogspot.com

    Happy running!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

