Posted by: jawsome | April 7, 2010

Yasso 800’s

So I guess I’m a little slow on the uptake (read: I don’t even have a real training plan for this marathon) but apparently Yasso 800’s are all the rage. Who knew? I guess the idea is you run 10 repeats of 800 meters at your goal marathon pace (i.e. if you want to run a 4:30 marathon, you run your repeats at 4 minutes, 30 seconds).  I checked out the workout info on Runners World, and when I got to the part about 10 repeats I started stalling. 10? That seems like a lot. Some of the comments indicated that if you’re just starting out you can start with “a handful” which seems pretty scientific to me.

Due to last night’s windy frigidity, I opted to chicken out skip the group training run that I have been avoiding for about a month now. Instead, it was down to the basement and the treadmill. I had it in my mind to do at least 4, with some jogging in there to round out a 3 mile workout. It took one 800 to figure out exactly what would give me a 4:30 time (which is my A marathon goal [which I’m terrified of]). And, other than the boredom of the treadmill they felt pretty good. In fact, after 4 I kept going! I felt that doing them at 4:30 was very manageable – a good solid effort but nothing that left me gasping too badly (not like 400m repeats which usually kick my butt). So, I went ahead and did 10. Workout success!

13 on the agenda for this weekend, with another tempo-ish run on Thursday to round out my step-back week.

Happy running!

Responses

  1. Way to jump right into 10 Yasso’s! If it didn’t whoop your butt, you should be running them faster. Just saying… 🙂

  2. @Marlene – hmm, that’s kind of what I was afraid of. Matt has decided that I should be running faster on my long runs too…

  3. Great work on the 10 repeats, wow! You’re inspiration for me to want to go do that many!

  4. Nice job on the yasso’s. I agree with Marlene. If you can jump right in and do 10 at 4:30 you can go faster 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

