Posted by: jawsome | March 6, 2010

I’m BACK!

Wow, ok – back to bloggy land. What a sabbatical! Lots of news, but I’ll try to keep it brief. 6 months off may require the dreaded BULLET POST.

  • Matt and I got engaged August 24th (hmm, you may notice a correlation between that and the timing of my last blog post…
  • I started working full time (8-5 really sucks, who knew?)
  • I have been in wedding planning, dissertation finishing, working, trying to find a new job, and training for my first marathon mode
  • Thus, no blog posts.
  • I have, however, been reading lurking all your blogs all this time (if any of you still have me on your radar)

But, I’m back! I think I have finally gotten things under control and will hopefully be able to blog again more regularly. I’ve been running along here since August, but things have really started heating up in the last two months, as I prepare for the Colorado marathon in May (eep!) On the plus side, Matt and I are getting married in September, so all this running means I’ll be fit for the wedding (actually, Matt and I are considering running a half marathon “together” in October, which will ensure I don’t become a total sloth during our honeymoon!)

So yes, marathon training. In the winter. In Colorado. What on earth was I thinking that sunny January day back in Santa Barbara? I’ve been logging lots of miles (well, I’m using the term “lots” loosely here) on the dreadmill, which is now set up in our basement (unfortunately making it even more dreadful). Also, now that March is teasing us into thinking it’s spring (I’m sure it’s a lie) I’ve been able to go outside. Which brings me to today’s run, and the inspiration for this post.

I ran 15 miles today. That is the farthest I have ever run in my life. Woot.

Other than being the farthest, there is not much to recommend this run. There were hills. Lots of them. It was into a brutal headwind for the first 7.5 miles, and on a frontage road of I-25 for the last 7.5 miles. It was s.l.o.w. Like really slow. But whatever, I had a great five mile tempo run yesterday so I’m not too worried. And now I can enjoy the rest of my day in sloth guilt-free.

Happy running!

Responses

  1. Missed you! Hope the marathon training is/continues to go well – along with everything else!

  2. Congratulations! I’m so glad you’ve still been running and your marathon training is going well. 🙂

  3. Congrats on the engagement! That’s a lot of stuff to tackle at once, but it sounds like you’ve got it under control. I think running on an I-25 frontage road earns you extra mileage, no matter how slow! Way to go!

  4. Welcome back!! BIG congrats on your engagement! Exciting! Sounds like LOTS going on.

    First marathon in May! Woohoo! And way to go on the mileage milestone!


Leave a Reply

Categories

