Posted by: jawsome | June 30, 2009

Marathon training coming soon?

As I get closer and closer to my move date (July 19th!) I have been trying to switch my running gears. Matt suggested (and I agree) that I should be working on speed and then after I move gradually try to increase the distance while maintaining my speed. Sounds like a plan.

Matt and I have also been debating about doing a marathon. I’ve talked here before about the Colorado Marathon (one of several so titled “Colorado Marathons” – these people need to get their acts together!). I really want to do at least one marathon, and I thought that would be it. HOWEVER, I have been hearing a lot of hype about the 1st ever annual Santa Barbara Marathon that’s taking place in December (the Colorado one isn’t until May). Matt even said he might train and run it with me (by “with me” he means kicking my butt even though he hardly runs at all because as we’ve discussed previously life is not fair especially when it comes to athletics and men and women). The only problem is, I’m kind of a running snob and I like to run in pretty places. Santa Barbara is beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but the marathon course is all through suburbs and along major roads. IDK if I want that to be my first marathon when the CO marathon is SO gorgeous (and all gently downhill). Plus, the SB marathon is in December, which I know is 6 months away but still seems frighteningly soon. And it’s a little hilly.

So I need some help, bloggy friends. Should I sign up for the (*choke* $105) SB marathon and be a part of the new tradition? I will probably appreciate the nice weather here come December…

Or, should I wait for the CO marathon?

Or should I run both??!!

I am conflicted, clearly.

EDIT: As I was typing this, I couldn’t stand the suspense so I went ahead and registered for the CO marathon. Yippee! Now to decide on the SB marathon…

Responses

  1. Yeah, what is it w/guys that they can barely train and make it seem so effortless?

    Colorado marathon sounds great!

    BTW, your blog looks so much like mine! 🙂

  2. Colorado sounds like the right choice – inaugural races can have so much go wrong, and a marathon distance is not the place to have too much go wrong!

    Very exciting!

  3. I would go with the CO one – you sound more excited about it , you have Plenty of time to train, and you’ll enjoy it more!! 🙂

  4. although both sound great you sound more excited about CO. And you already signed up for it so yay! now you have more time to figure out training and such 🙂

  5. Congratulations on signing up for your first marathon! I think CO would be a great one for your first. You don’t want a boring course and maybe December is too soon?

  6. CO marathon is a good one and you will enjoy it. Plus it’s nice to have plenty of time to train, and then add another race sooner if you feel up to it. At least, that’s what I am telling myself!


Leave a Reply

Categories

