Posted by: jawsome | June 26, 2009

Nite moves, track meets, and final days in SB

I know it’s been a while – somehow moving is always more complicated than I remember from last time. This time I will be moving halfway across the country, without Matt 😦 to finish my PhD and go back to working 8-5. It should be a momentous year of both good and tough.

Thursday’s TiaRT was about things you didn’t know about running. For me, running has helped me survive my last year as a graduate student. It’s helped me stay focused and relaxed at the same time. I didn’t know running would become something I did even after I reached my goal weight. I didn’t know I would keep it up and make it a habit for my life. I didn’t know it would lead to other life changes – like changing how I eat, sleep, and generally take care of myself. I don’t think of myself as a very religious person, but running has truly made me think of my body as a temple.

Went camping last weekend with my dad for father’s day – 4 days of camping, fishing, and eating BBQ (yum). There was no running. Then, on Wednesday (one of my last Nite Moves) my friend Rene wanted to go wine tasting to celebrate her last day in SB (she’s in my class, and will be moving as well). Wine tasting the day of a race = I wasn’t expecting any miracles. To top it off, during my warm-up jog I totally biffed it in front of hundreds of people. I did one of those fall-down-and-pretend-it-was-part-of-the-plan falls. I lay there for about 30 seconds and then got up and tried to hide my bright red face. My knees took most of the fall, so again my expectations for the 5k were pretty minimal.

However, as seems to be the trend, the worse I prepare for a race the better I do. 23:53:00. Woot! Getting close to my goal of wiping the floor with my first 5k time.

Also, I learned about a track meet race that’s happening tonight. As you may recall, I ran the open 400 in track in HS (as well as the 4×400 and the 300m hurdles). Tonight’s meet has an open 400 and a 5k (as well as numerous other events), and I have to say I’m kind of tempted to do both. Originally I thought I would just sign up for the 5k because it’s flat and I want to see what I can do. But – I did also just sign up for a 4th of July 5k that will also be perfectly flat. Hmm. I’m intimidated nervous about doing the 400 because I know my time will be laughable compared to what I ran in HS (which wasn’t even that fast, really). I needed to consult McMillan to even have a sense of what I’m capable of.  McMillan thinks I can do a 400 in 1:24. My fastest time in HS was 1:04 (see I wasn’t really that fast then either). Hmm.

So what do you all think, should I run the 400 and humiliate myself, or just stick with the 5k (and also possibly humiliate myself)? Or should I do both and do some exposure therapy on my feelings of not being good enough?

Responses

  1. Go for them both and have a blast!!

  2. Congrats on ANOTHER speedy 5K. Hmm, wine tasting… maybe that’s the trick! 🙂

    I’d go for the 400… just for kicks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

