Posted by: jawsome | June 17, 2009

Wheee! 5ks are fun

Nite Moves again tonight. I felt MUCH BETTER than last week, even though I can’t think of anything I did differently. If anything, I should have felt worse today considering the epic activities of the weekend and the fact that I allowed Billy Blanks to browbeat me for over an hour yesterday. Nope, I felt great. A winning combination of good fueling (mmm homemade key lime cheesecake) and great company. Matt graciously took time out of his hectic training schedule to come run with me. If life were at all fair (a big “if”, I know) I would beat him since he has done practically no running. However, he’s basically awesome and kicked my butt. Can’t complain though, I PR’d by 28 seconds! Wheeee! 24:07. Stoked.

I’ve decided that my goal should be to beat my first 5k time (Feb 2008) of 33:43 by 10 full minutes. Think I have another 24 seconds in me? I don’t know…I have 2 more Nite Moves until I leave for CO. I’m going to tailor my training specifically to the 5k for the next two weeks (hellooooo speed work). Wish me luck!

Happy Running!

Responses

  1. You are SO close to pounding 10 minutes off your first 5K! Good luck with the speed work.

    And big congrats on another PR!

  2. Heck yeah! If you can run 24:07 in training you can shave 24 seconds off in a race…all that adrenaline! A 10-min. PR is huge!

  3. Nice job! You’ll get that 23:43 in 2 weeks. Found some good photos of your finish…

    http://santabarbarapix.com/details.php?gid=837&pid=196402

    http://santabarbarapix.com/details.php?gid=837&pid=196404

  4. Hee hee, I look like I’m flying!

  5. Wow, you’re kicking ass at these night races – way to go!

  6. You definitely have those 24 seconds in you! especially if you keep doing these speedy runs! 🙂

  7. Great job on the [new] PR. And I agree with everyone else, I think you can do it. 24 seconds is like, nothing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

