Posted by: jawsome | June 8, 2009

New leaves etc.

I am not even going to tell you what I ate over the weekend. Goodbye parties (sniff), BBQ’s, and too many adult bevvies. Needless to say, my run this morning was HIGHLY UNPLEASANT but necessary. Sometimes I actually like those runs, in a weird masochistic way. I’ll be gimping along, suffering, and it’ll go a little like this:

LIVER: You know, Joselyne, I could be helping you out a lot more here if you hadn’t tried to POISON me last night

ME: Sorry liver, you’re right. It seemed like a good idea at the time. You got any more glycogen in there?

LIVER: No. And even if I did, I wouldn’t give it to you. You don’t appreciate the work I do for you!

STOMACH: Seriously! If anyone is underappreciated here it’s me! Did you SEE the number of tortilla chips she ate? Or what about the jalapenos and spicy salsa! Not to mention the cheese…

GI TRACT: Don’t worry liver, stomach, I’ll make sure she suffers!

ME: groan

But now that sufferfest is over. I din’t take garmie because I didn’t want to have a record of my pathetic-ness. So I am turning over a new leaf here, people. I know the half marathon is over, but that doesn’t mean there’s a moratorium on healthy living. There are at least 3 more Nite Moves left, and a 15k on the 4th of July. Suck it up, Jawsome. It’s time to re-earn that moniker.

Responses

  1. Sometimes that kind of run can feel cleansing– I literally feel like I’m sweating out the poison. I think you did, too. Ready to start afresh!

  2. Love the commentary! (not to talk pleasure in your suffering…)

    I think we need those reminders now and then. I’ll bet you felt great once you were done!

  3. Way to grind it out. If we didn’t like that feeling at least a little, every now and then, we probably wouldn’t run in the first place…

  4. Oh I so have been there too many times. Even though I pay for it I feel so much better sweating out all the junk!

  5. Hey guess what? I gave you a blog award today! You can check it out here!


Leave a Reply

Categories

