Posted by: jawsome | June 7, 2009

LSD…um, not really actually

It was nice and sunny at my house this morning, so I decided to set out for a nice long, slow run. Well…that didn’t really happen. I was planning on doing 8 or so miles at 10:30 pace. BTW, I’m kind of confused about pacing. Everything I read says you should run your long training runs 1-2 min per mile slower than your race pace. But everything I read also says the slower you run, the longer you’re out there and you increase your chance for injury. So…if I figure my 10k race pace is around 8:30-9:00, I should be running 10:30-11:00 on my distance runs? That seems pretty slow to me…but what do I know?

Anyway, I set out and my first 2 miles were in the low nines. Oops. Then I did my loop around the mesa, which is so familiar and fun I just don’t think I can run that slow. So I decided to do a tempo mile instead. Mile 3: 8:37. Perfect. Then I slowed back down to around 9:30-10:00 until I got to the hill. Hmm, it doesn’t say anything about hill repeats in the description of long, slow distance either. Oh well! 3×100 up the hill. Whew. By the last 2 miles I was pretty whupped (did I mention I was doing this in the Vibrams?) so I slowed it down to my “target” pace of 10:30 miles.

What can I say, I lack discipline.

Responses

  1. Last fall I did this – ran my “long” run purposefullly slow – and I think I took it to an extreme. When I went into the race I was frustrated with my pace and got my slowest time. Not fun! So, I say just run the long ones at a pace you’re comfortable with. Definitely slower than you’d run a 10K – just because you want to be able to hold it. It’ll come to you 🙂

  2. Ah yes, the Runapalooza. These are the fun runs where you do a little bit of everything, just because it’s fun and you feel like it.

    Did I mention that I seem to have injured myself the last time I did a Runapalooze?! But that doesn’t always happen…

  3. I tend to be all over theplace during my runs sometimes too. Sometimes you’re just not in the mood for “LSD”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

