Posted by: jawsome | May 28, 2009

Nite Moves 5k Race Report #1

Sometimes spontaneous decisions are good ones. I am SO glad I decided to do the 5k tonight, what fun! I was surprised at the size of the event, considering how small Roses en la Playa was this year. There were lots of tents, with free beer and tacos for after the race.

I got my sweet t-shirt and race bib, and did a little warmup jog prior to the start. The start line was only semi-official and I just started my Garmin where I thought the line was. The first few hundred meters were kind of annoying with people jockeying for position on the narrow sidewalk. I kept a steady pace, and glanced down at my watch every now and then and saw numbers in the 8’s. I’m not very good at math, but I knew I had to stay below 9:00 miles to reach my race goal and PR (previous PR is 27:54). I wanted to get a sub 27 minute time, but I wasn’t sure how possible that was.

Mile 1 – 8:45 – feeling strong. I was passing people and not getting passed, which made me happy. Had to dodge a couple of strollers and abrupt walkers, which did not make me happy.

Mile 2 – 8:27 – the hill kept getting steeper, and I was starting to get that “I might barf'” feeling. Had to back it off a little or risk hurling on the race officials.

Mile 3 – 7:53 – Sweet merciful downhill. I was worried that I would get cramps on the downhill, but they stayed away and I felt strong. Still passing people.

.10 – 37.15 – This is where I kicked, and passed a few more people (and got passed by two girls in hot pants and capes, sigh).

Total time according to Garmin: 25:43:76. No idea what the official time, but yes I’ll take a PR of over 2 minutes! Woot! I immediately followed up this success by partaking in the free beer. I avoided the free tacos because I’m making a scrumptious turkey dinner tonight, but next week tacos better watch out. Ok, enough typing, time to celebrate!

Happy running!

Responses

  1. Yay, so glad you wrote about it already! You have gotten LOADS faster, wow wow wow!

    I was also happy to see you went to one of these night moves events – my friend Heather than ran the half with me is from Santa Barbara and told me about them. They sound fun!

  2. You smoked it! Congratulations!

  3. WOW! You crushed that PR!

  4. Wow! That time is amazing! Way to go!

  5. Superfast! Awesome!! And good job for not barfing. That is running success in my book.

  6. Congrats on the fantastic PR!

  7. Check out those negative splits! Aaaawesome!! What a fun spontaneous run 🙂 I love it! Congrats!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

