Posted by: jawsome | May 27, 2009

Motivation injection

I’ve been feeling unmotivated lately, so what did I do? I signed up for two, count them TWO races this week. I’ll be doing Nite Moves tonight (nothing like deciding on a race the day of), which is a weekly 5k running series, followed by the State Street Mile on Sunday. Woot! I’m excited! I haven’t tested my mile time in forever…

The cool thing about nite moves is that there’s an optional 1km swim before the run. I don’t know how to swim, so I’m kind of afraid (come on, I mean, I know how to swim I just don’t know how to SWIM, if you take my meaning) – I might start doing the swim/run for the month of June – could be fun and an extra way to burn calories!

I’ve been having trouble gearing up for long runs since the half marathon – working on speed and also not having another long race to train for. I know that when I move to CO (just over a month now!) I’ll have to take some time to adjust to the altitude so I might as well stick to shorter distances right? RIGHT? As long as I’m still running 15-20 miles per week I should be fine. Oh, except this week will be way less due to the races. I’m thinking 10? Sigh. Stupid Sunday races ruin the whole weekend.

Happy running!

Responses

  1. You’re moving to CO?!! Hm, did I miss this somewhere?? Eh, if so I’m sorry! but wow, how exciting! My parents live in NM, and the altitude is Definitely an adjustment, but you’ll get there :). good luck on the TWO races this weekend! very Fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Since you’re in shape, you’ll adjust to the altitude quickly (I did when we moved here 4 years ago and I was running a lot at the time). And when you do, you’ll be a way stronger runner for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve kind of been having a hard time doing a long run since my half, too. The longest I’ve done is 9 miles…so I signed up for another half on 6/14 to ensure I don’t slack TOO much. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nothing like an impending race to keep you moving…

  3. This is my issue too … and races do really help me. I know I need to run in order to not die during a race ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thats why I’m thinking of this September 1/2, but it really requires training. I did an 8K with some (but not all) training, but you cant pull that scam with 13.1 miles!


Leave a Reply

Categories

