Posted by: jawsome | May 20, 2009

The Michigan

I realized after doing a Google search that this Michigan workout is not exactly well known! There is an article in this month’s Runner’s World about training for peak performance. Apparently, there is/was a coach at U of M (Ron Warhurst) who developed this insane run to help his runners stress every running system within one run. Sounds like fun, right? Ha. The traditional Michigan is practically impossible because it has time requirements for each section that I couldn’t meet in my wildest dreams (in fact, cross country runners at U of M don’t usually finish the workout successfully until their Junior year). Instead, the magazine broke the workout down by distance, so you can tailor it to your slow pace.

Here’s the breakdown – there are a long and short version

Short:

  • start with 1 mile (easy jogging with 5 strides)
  • 1000 meters @5k race pace
  • half mile @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 800 meters @5k race pace
  • half mile @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 600 meters @5k race pace
  • half mile @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 400 meters @sprint pace (all out)
  • 1/2 mile cool down (I added that, as it seemed prudent!)

Long:

  • start with 1-2 miles (easy jogging with 5 strides)
  • 1 mile @5k race pace
  • 1.5 miles @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 1200 meters @5k race pace
  • 1.5 miles @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 800 meters @5k race pace
  • 1.5 miles @ tempo pace (between 10k and marathon pace)
  • 400 meters @sprint pace (all out)
  • 1/2 mile cool down (I added that, as it seemed prudent!)

So…yeah. Pretty brutal, but I’m kind of looking forward to it. I’m doing the short version today or tomorrow, and the long version this weekend. Or, I should say, I am going to attempt. I’ll let you know!

Responses

  1. I read about that in the RW mag! I’m scared to try it. Heh. I want to hear how you do first. 🙂

  2. Ha wow that is brutal! thanks for posting it, I’ve never heard of this!

  3. Never heard of it either, but then most of my training prior to this years was, “go run for as long as you can, at whatever pace feels manageable.” Interested to see what you thought of it….will consider it someday when I’ve feeling frisky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

