Posted by: jawsome | May 9, 2009

Fire on the mountain, and pre-race shenanigans!

The fire is still insane. Every day they battle the heck out of the thing, but we have these high winds every evening and it kicks up and goes crazy.  Last night a bunch of friends and I went out to the premiere of Star Trek for my birthday (excellent movie, BTW!) and in the time in took to watch the movie (2:06) the fire had moved several miles closer to my house. We left the theater and walked out into extreme falling ash and horrid, fiery hillsides.  Thank goodness the race is in Santa Ynez, which is about 20 miles away.

A quick lesson in "it's just stuff" thinking...

A quick lesson in "it's just stuff" thinking...

I went to the race expo today, which was pretty weaksauce. Can’t complain though, people are probably freaked out by the fire. Dad bought me some running socks for my b-day (yaay). My race gear for tomorrow is packed up next to my evacuation bags. Packing for a potential evacuation is an intense exercise, and I had to meditate a little today on my short run to get my focus back for the race. Heck of a b-day weekend!

Ice cream cake counts as healthy pre-race food, right?  🙂 Can’t wait for the race tomorrow, report to follow!

Responses

  1. Good Luck!!

  2. Good luck tomorrow!

  3. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Good luck at the 10-miler, and stay safe!

    P.S. Happy (belated) Birthday!

  4. Yikes! Stay safe and good luck!

  5. Good Luck, and have fun!

  6. Ice cream Definitely counts! I had Ben & Jerrys before my last race and it was delicious (as usual!) 🙂 the race was great too! haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

