Posted by: jawsome | April 27, 2009

Half marathon practice

Sunday was a big day, and I’m still exhausted! Matt had his peak bike race in Los Olivos, and I was running the half marathon course for practice. The organization of the whole thing was complicated by the fact that my mom and step-dad were in town for the weekend, and we needed to set up a shuttle and figure out how to get all the key players to their appropriate respective locations. Our carbon footprint was large, sorry Earth.

Step 1: Wake up at 6am, consume cinnamon bread (YUM!), load car, wish Matt good luck and head to Solvang.

Step 2: Meet mom and Harve in Solvang, lube up the feet, apply sunscreen and debate for 10 minutes about whether to bring the jacket (decided to bring it, regretted it 5 minutes later)

Step 3: Leave my car at finish in Solvang, get in mom’s car and drive to Santa Ynez (start). Find bathroom.

Step 4: Drive BACK to Solvang to get water bottle that I left behind.

Step 5: Back in Santa Ynez, start running. Remove jacket almost immediately.

Step 6: run half marathon course.

Step 7: Drive 6 miles down the road (thank you compression tights for preventing accident-causing cramps) to Matt’s bike race

Step 8: scream like a madwoman in support of Matt

Step 9: Head home, eat food, sleep.

Miles 1-6: Crappy, as usual. I don’t know what it is about the first 4 miles – I always hate it. Does it really take me FOUR MILES to warm up? That’s kind of ridiculous. I’m hoping the hubbub at the start of the actual race will help carry me through. The first 6 miles of the course are kind of meh – they wander through neighborhoods with cars and trash trucks and mailmen.

Miles 6-10: Did I neglect to mention that Momz wanted to run part of the way with me? She volunteered to suffer up Ballard and down to Rusack Winery with me. She runs at a more moderate pace (14:00 minute miles), but for a training run I didn’t mind. She helped the time pass.

those tiny brownish dots that you can barely see are Bison. My camera phone sucks.

those tiny brownish dots that you can barely see are Bison. My camera phone sucks.

We huffed it to the top of Ballard, then I choked down my second gu and we ran back down. From this point, the scenery and the elevation would undergo (in my mind) a rapid and dramatic improvement.

Momz headed down the road

Momz headed down the road

Running through wineries and pastures is soothing to my soul. Perhaps I was a farmer in a past life. Or I really like wine. Or both!

Really, camera phone? You call that a picture?

Really, camera phone? You call that a picture?

Miles 10-13.1: I left mom at Rusack winery at mile ten (she knows how to recover!). From then on I picked up the pace and moved along down the road. I was feeling really good (thank you caffeinated Gu!) and felt strong heading into Chalk Hill in the final mile. Ugh. Chalk hill. It’s 3/4 to 1 mile long, and is a sneaky little bastard. You head up this mild seeming incline and get to the “top” which drops you downhill a couple feet before twisting and rising again. Then it’s flatish for a ways, then up AGAIN, then slightly flat, then up AGAIN, and finally, a slightly flat portion and ONE MORE HILL. Ok, it’s not that dramatic in real life, but after running 12 miles it kind of makes you want to punch the RD in the face.

Finish area in Solvang. I took this to compare to finish photos in 2 weeks!

Finish area in Solvang. I took this to compare to finish photos in 2 weeks!

Finished up in 2:16:56, which I was very pleased with considering I ran 4 miles in the middle at 12-14 mile pace. Afterward, I had my obligatory Chicken Ranch burrito. Oh chicken ranch, what will I do without you once I move to Colorado? The last time I ordered a burrito in Colorado it had white rice in it. WHITE RICE!

The sticker on the box says "sirloin rump (cow butt)" Cow butt??!!

The sticker on the box says "sirloin rump (cow butt)" Cow butt??!!

You know what time it is: Race goals time!

In order of ease:

1. Finish

2. Finish in 2:10 (if I have an average day)

3. Finish in 2:05 (If I have a good day)

4. Finish in 2:00 (If I have a really, really good day)

5. Beat Dana’s Torrey Pines half time of 1:57 (if I take EPO before the race)

Getting excited!

Responses

  1. Yeah, considering you did the course in the same time as my RACE time, I think you will smash it!!

    🙂

    We have a crazy hill called Chalk Hill here, it’s a big scary bike hill in the Vineman (Ironman) races. I keep thinking you’re visiting me here!

  2. Aside from all of the driving and the hill at the end it sounds like you gas the best day ever! You’re so fortunate that matts active too – it’s cool that you can go to each others races!

  3. Thats a great idea to run the actual course before the race!! Usually I travel for a race (making it an excuse to visit a friend 🙂 ) so I’ve never done this – but I think if you’re going for a PR or something it’d probably be so helpful!
    sounds like you had a great training run!!

  4. Thats a great idea to run the actual course before the race!! Usually I travel for a race (making it an excuse to visit a friend 🙂 ) so I’ve never done this – but I think if you’re going for a PR or something it’d probably be so helpful!
    sounds like you had a great training run!!

  5. That’s awesome you ran the actual course before the race. Great training run – you’ll do great race day!

  6. Awesome jawsome! I had to laugh when I read about your jacket b/c in two 5ks I’ve ran I debated on wearing one, did, and immediately regretted it both times, lol.

  7. Sounds like it was awesome! Congrats. Can’t wait to hear about you 1:57 finish! 😀

  8. Great plan to run the route; I keep thinking I should do that for my 1/2 in two weeks…but then I chicken out thinking it will be better if I don’t know exactly what’s coming. Sometimes I psych myself out when I know a hill is coming up. And sadly, you are right, I have yet to find a burrito with brown rice in it here in CO. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

