Posted by: jawsome | April 22, 2009

Back with bells on

***Long post warning***

Last weekend Matt and I headed up to Monterey for the Sea Otter Classic. We left on Thursday night and stayed at the very swanky Holiday Inn Express (seriously, it was swanky – marble bathroom and flat screen TV!) courtesy of John C.’s high powered connections. On Friday, we headed up to the Otter, which was taking place at the Laguna Seca Raceway. What an amazing event! Tons of cyclists, vendors, spectators and superfans (like me). Matt went out for a bike ride and I scoped out the scene.

lots of bike peeps

lots of bike peeps

Matt looking hot and clashtastic as he preps for his pre-ride

Matt looking hot and clashtastic as he preps for his pre-ride

The expo was bike related of course, so not as interesting for me. They did have lots of free samples of nutrition stuff though, so I got to try some Luna Moons (yum!) and Cytomax Pomegranate (ewww!). I then thought I might take the Vibrams out for a short run/hike to scope for my upcoming Sunday 9-miler. This turned out not to be such a good idea, actually. The flaw in running nearly barefoot is, of course, that you’re running nearly barefoot. I had to leap out of the way of some cyclists while on my scouting mission, and landed hard on a sharp rock right between my big and second toe joint. OUCH! My foot was really sore for the rest of the day, and I was worried I might have caused some permanent damage. It didn’t help that we were hoofing it all around the expo all day – my feet were killing me.

Luckily, they felt a little better the next day, and were fine by Sunday. On Saturday, Matt and I made our way to the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. What a great morning! We wandered around cannery row and saw all the old sardine factories. I wanted to take all the obligatory dorky tourist photos, but Matt wouldn’t let me (what’s wrong with taking a photo next to a wax captain hook, I ask you!?).

Aww

Aww

Matt is haunted by the Jellyfish. They are kind of creepily cool

On Sunday, we headed to the venue early so Matt could get ready for his 8:20 start. It was a brutally hot (for Monterey) day of 85-90. It was so hot they ended up cutting the pro race short (*cough* wimps *cough*). I decided to go out and run on the course to cheer the guys on. How scenic is this?

I didn’t take any pictures during the race because I still have not found a satisfactory way to carry my camera along on a run. These were taken from before, and the whole trail system looked like this.  I did nine miles (with many stops and starts to cheer the racers on). What fun! I haven’t enjoyed a run like that in a long time.

Alas, too soon it was time to head home and get back to work (ughghghghghghh).

Responses

  1. Beautiful trail and good for you for cheering them on! I think I might have jellyfish nightmares now…

  2. I would have liked to see that pic of you next to the wax captain hook, lol~ that’s right up mine & Mark’s alley!


Leave a Reply

Categories

