Posted by: jawsome | March 12, 2009

Depression

I think I’m getting competitor’s depression from all of Matt’s racing successes! I’m so happy for him – but when I calculated my target time for the half, I would have placed 100th in last years race in my age group. Sigh. I know that only elite athletes actually win running events – esp. ones with so many runners. I know that I am just competing against myself and all that…but a little voice inside of me still says it would be nice to win. Or even place in the top 10. Maybe I should find a small local race in one of the most out of shape areas of the country. At last I could feel the glory of a winning 27 minute 5k… lol. 🙂

I guess I’m also just nervous that the 1/2 I chose for my first is on a challenging course. I’m going to push myself on Saturday on the first part of it – I’ll let you know how it goes!

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting on my site yesterday – appreciated your perspective during walking breaks.

    Don’t let comparisons with others dissuade you. I have a younger brother who is approximately 1.5-2 minutes per mile faster than me and routinely places well ahead in races we’ve both run. Initially, this was a bummer – until I realized that I’m not running to match him; I’m running to better myself. There are things that he can do that I can’t – and vice versa. Objective is to set goals for yourself and meet or beat them – not to allow others (or our comparisons with others) warp our perspective.

    You are doing great. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

