Posted by: jawsome | February 7, 2009

Rainy day run

Well, it’s been raining here for the last 3 days. I woke up this morning and it was 42 degrees and pouring. I thought, no problem, I’ll just wear the right clothing – it’ll be fine. I got all dressed in my tech fabric, and opened the door. Brrrr! No way man. So instead, Matt and I converted our unused den to a home gym (I had made an office in there for myself on a whim – which has never been used as I like to lappy it in the living room). Now our home gym has two bike trainers, a treadmill, an exercise ball and various weights. Nice.

Matt and I decided to suck it up and workout side by side indoors during the deluge. Running any kind of distance on a treadmill is an exercise in extreme tedium, but with Matt by my side, my iPod cranking, and a cyclocross video on the TV, we pushed out an hour workout. I got in 6 miles, but couldn’t take the treadmill any more. I need 8 on my training schedule, so I browbeat Matt into taking Japhy outside for the final 2 miles. Luckily the rain had cleared, and we had a nice run.

Treadmills are a good option in foul weather, but the amount of distraction it takes to avoid boredom is intense.  Hopefully next weekend will be nice for my first 9 mile run.

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

Categories

