Posted by: jawsome | February 5, 2009

Intervals take two

Today was my second time doing intervals, and it was a challenge!  I did 2 miles, then 2x(1:00, 1:30, 2:00) at hard effort, followed by 2 more miles. I followed that up with a half mile cool down walk. The first two miles were fine – I took Japhy who was taking it slow (he had his teeth cleaned yesterday). I dropped him off at home, and headed out for the intervals. It was so warm today that I was out in my sports bra and shorts (for the first time feeling fairly comfortable with such little clothing).  By the time I got to the 2 minute sections, I was working. I tried hard to keep it to 30 second recovery between intervals, but I ended up taking 45 between my 2:00 sections. I ran them at about 7:30 pace, which still makes me laugh. There are people who run entire marathons faster than that, and I can only do it for 2 minutes!

The final two miles were not as fun, but I guess that’s the point – being able to run when you’re hurting. Even so, I did them in 9:45 and 10:00 respectively. The good news is my knee didn’t really bother me. I think I haven’t been doing sufficient cool-downs, so I made sure to walk the half mile back to my house.

In other news, I had to drive down to Sherman Oaks today to return some things I got for Christmas (long story). When I tried on some pants, I was shocked to see I am now a size 4! That just blows my mind. I am so happy I have made this change in my life. It’s nice to see my hard work paying off.

Ok, I’m off to enjoy a glass of wine over LOST.  Happy running!

Leave a Reply

Categories

