Posted by: jawsome | January 29, 2009

Snow-Shoeing in Nederland

Sorry I’ve been slow to update – I’ve been slow to get back to life too! I got home from Colorado and hit a wall as far as motivation is concerned (work, school and exercise). But, I’m back now – so here goes.

On my last day in Colorado, we drove out to Nederland (cool town above Boulder with to die for Bloody Mary’s and pulled pork sandwiches). Mike had his Telly (Telli? Telle?) Skis, and Sean, Bonnie and I had snowshoes.

Isn't it gorgeous??

Isn't it gorgeous??

We decided to hike the Lost Lake trail (and so did a lot of other people!) I love Colorado because EVERYONE is so into the outdoors. It was snowing fairly hard on the way out, and if the weather ever gets like that here – even though we never see snow – people will stay warm and safe in their homes! It was uphill on the way out, and the altitude combined with Bonnie’s recovering black lung of death made for a slow team XX. We were simply allowing Mike and Sean time to bond way up the trail. Right.

Lots of snow

Lots of snow

So onward we hiked – I think we ended up going 6 miles (very slowly) in all. Next time maybe we’ll cross country ski. Matt has made the astute observation that Madison WI (my current top internship choice) has ample cross country skiing.

One of the few glimpses we got of Mike and Sean

One of the few glimpses we got of Mike and Sean

I promised that I would write a blog post with pictures from my trip – to “make [them] famous.” Ok, so now all three of my blog readers know who you are!!

Definitely snow bunnies. Miss you Bon!

Definitely snow bunnies. Miss you Bon!

Playing in the snow

Playing in the snow

Lost Lake

Lost Lake

So finally we made it to Lost Lake, just in time to turn around and scramble back as quickly as possible. There is no denying the draw of a Ned-E-Q pulled pork sandwich.

Responses

  1. Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    Robert Shumake


Leave a Reply

Categories

