Posted by: jawsome | December 31, 2008

Quick update

Ok, so it’s been a while since I’ve posted – I went to Connecticut to visit Matt’s family, and couldn’t take time away from eating scotchie cookies to post something! 🙂 I have one word for my diet over Christmas: carbs. carbs carbs carbs carbs carbs.  I did not think it was possible to reach cookie capacity, but I learned that it is indeed possible! Mashed potatos, stuffing, chilli, rice, COOKIES…mmm carbs. Needless to say I was surprised that I did not gain any weight on the trip – in spite of catching a cold and being laid up for several days. Here is a quick re-wind.

Friday: 3.5 mile run with Japhy in Tucker’s grove, which is my new fav hilly run

Saturday: 5 mile run in SD with Matt on another hilly course

Sunday: Travel to Connecticut

Monday: Cross-country skiing

such a beautiful course!

such a beautiful course!

snow bunnies

snow bunnies

Tuesday: more cross country skiing

Wednesday: hanging with family

Thursday: Christmas! and I got a cold 😦

Friday: sick

Saturday: sick – and our plane was delayed by an entire day 😦

Sunday: back in Santa B

Monday: 3.5 mile run with Japhy while still sick (it was more of a hobble)

Tuesday: 4 mile run with Japhy (still slightly sick and hobbly)

Ok, now that we’re all caught up I can give some details. Cross country skiing was SO FUN! I have never done it before, but what a great sport! It burns more calories than ANY other type of exercise, but is really enjoyable too. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but once I did we had a great time. I got my white Christmas in Connecticut, which was nice, and had a great time in spite of my cold.

I do feel like I’ve lost some conditioning, and my cold isn’t helping. I ran today even though I’ve had some trouble breathing for two reasons: 1) I want to get better at “running through the pain”, and 2) I have a 10k coming up in 2 weeks (eeek!).  I’m kind of nervous about the 10k because it’s a trail course and it’s fairly hilly. I don’t have a lot of practice on hills, so tomorrow I’m heading out for a nice long run up one of the steep trails in Montecito. I probably won’t run the whole way because it’s pretty steep, but just getting out there and getting some more exposure will be good.  That means not too much champagne for me tonight, friends!

In terms of resolutions, I think my main one is just going to be to stick with running this year. I have a lot of challenges coming up this year (not the least of which is finishing my dissertation!), and I want running to help me through these things.

Happy new year all!

Responses

  1. You look so beautiful in that picture! It’s probably good you got some cross training in. 🙂 Good luck with that 10k, you’ll do great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

