Posted by: jawsome | December 5, 2008

Treadmills…ugh

Yesterday was one of those days – you know the ones – when I managed to get absolutely nothing done. By the end of the day I was sitting on my couch feeling completely useless. Luckily for me, I read a friend’s running blog which got me up to run. Unfortunately, it was dark outside and I don’t have a death wish – so I got on my treadmill for the first time in months. I used to use the treadmill frequently because I was embarassed to be seen “running” in my neighborhood. I still don’t like getting hollered at on the street, but at least now I don’t feel like people are going to pull over and call an ambulance!

Anyway, I got on the treadmill expecting to be dead bored, and was. However, I did run 3.2 miles, which is significant when all you are looking at is a blank wall. Additionally, the last (and only other) time I ran 3 miles on the treadmill was some time last year and I almost passed out. This was like nothing – no big deal, not really tired – just boring.

Determined that this would not be my fate today, I got my butt moving early and headed out to the mesa. I was pretty dehydrated and not well nourished, but I still managed ok. Japhy loves those runs. I’m also doing Pilates with Matt at noon, and hopefully I can get him out for a short run with me this weekend. This weekend I’ve also got an 8 miler on my schedule (sorry Japhy), so lots of runs this week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

