Posted by: jawsome | November 24, 2008

4 mile race trial

I decided to do a race trial today at near-race effort. I kept my pace to 9:30 for the first 2.5 miles, and was feeling really good. It was about 60 degrees out, so I had to stop to take my pullover off at the 2 mile mark (trying to take it off while running, with garmin and iPod attached, is not a good idea – last time I tried that I nearly ran off a cliff). The first mile of the last 1.5 miles was relatively up-hill, and I kept checking my Garmin in exasperation as my pace crept up past 10 minutes per mile. Luckily, my “finish line” song came on at exactly the right moment, and I cranked it up for the last .5 mile. I ran 4 miles in 38:55, which made me very happy. If I can just do a repeat performance on Thursday! I’m hoping that the adrenaline of the race might help me go even faster (as long as I don’t sprint out the starting gate!)

Tomorrow I’m just doing a slow jog on the treadmill (since I don’t get off work until 8pm) to keep my legs loose. Wednesday I’ll go for a 3.4 mile walk with Japhy, and Thursday is the race!

Ok, back to work – ho hum.

Leave a Reply

Categories

