Posted by: jawsome | July 29, 2011

And now, from Portland…

I’ve been out of commission lately due to foot and bike injuries (not to mention my MOVE TO PORTLAND!!).  Matt and I are here now, and in spite of our small, slightly stinky apartment we are happy.

My running lately has been nonexistent due to the above-mentioned injuries, but I was a good patient and did not push it. Thus, I am now fully healed and getting back into things. Somehow I managed to not gain 10 lbs (after running 30-40 miles per week, this was a SERIOUS eating adjustment).

My first real run  (over two miles) was yesterday. I ran along the Wildwood Trail in beautiful Forest Park. This trail is a runner’s paradise. 30 miles ONE WAY along an almost completely flat, winding, barefoot friendly forest hillside. LOVE. There are plenty of steep side trails for hill training, but this was just what I needed to get started again. I did 5 miles. Felt pretty good – a little rusty and DEFINITELY slow – and I can’t wait to do more!

Wildwood Trail

I think 5 miles was a good place to start, as I’m “training” for the Forest Park Trail Series – a series of five races between 5 and 8 miles. I signed up for the whole series, and each race is limited to 100 people. I’m just coming off of this injury, so I’m not going to push it. Still, hopefully I won’t come in last!

Happy running

Responses

  1. welcome to the west coast! sorry to hear you’ve been injured, but glad you’re on the mend and getting back out there. that trail looks amazing….that’s definitely something i miss, i haven’t been on the trails in what feels like ages!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

